Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Welcome to the next installment in our nettle-along.

nettle10

This is what I managed to harvest in July, and it’s time for the next batch. I saved some of the leaves instead of feeding them to the horses, because while I don’t have time for a separate study of how to use the stalks for paper making, I do want to try to make paper and thought, why not add the dry leaves to my mixed materials bin? I’m drying my stalks inside because of the wet weather, I don’t know it that’s really necessary, but I didn’t want them to mold.

Because of my very long headache, then the holidays not allowing much me-time (just look at the artistic skill of these photos!), I still haven’t managed to translate that booklet I promised – I’ll try to get to it asap.

This is the patch I aim to cut for August
nettle9

And my June batch all brown and dry now.
nettle8

A couple of videos on Ramie processing in Korea and Japan, only the first one in English, the second one in Japanese with horrible music, so I recommend watching that one in silence. Note that they soak and strip the green stalks, no drying first. While it looks like a different plant, ramie is related to stinging nettles, while the giant himalayan nettle, also traditionally used in weaving, is yet another relative.

I don’t think I’ll begin processing fiber with my teeth any time soon, you have to marvel at their patience!

 

Save

Save

Save

Save