Tags

, , , , ,

monks sampling08

Today’s post is related to the previous one. As before I still struggle with my taste for colour, and every time I think I’ve developed a colourscheme of just 3-4 shades, I keep finding a few extras that would also go well. Some of them overlap into the next group, others are completely different. From buddhist monks’ robes to pale greens and blues, from intricate patterns to solids. My brain overloads completely with colours from nature all the time, any season. I could make swatches and sketches as a full time job and never get beyond that.

So what do you prefer, I’m curious to know: Separate seasonal clothing that all match within their group, or even the same group all year, changing out everything often to benefit from new colour inspiration or do you fall into the trap of buying that one pretty thing and then you have 10 wildly different shirts but no pants or sweaters that match? Crazy shirts, with jeans or all black pants? Do you get yourself a new summer wardrobe every year in the colours chosen by the manufacturers? (yes, I know many of you don’t, that I’ve gotten to know from this blog, but I’d like your thoughts anyway) Or do you just stick to basic neutrals because you REALLY can’t be bothered, and just dress to be decent.

seasand19I may have a hygeine problem, but I don’t have top to bottom outfits of pants, shirt, vest for instance, which all get changed and washed after a day and which are always together as a set. In winter I wear many layers, in summer I’m lucky if I have 2 pairs of shorts and some trousers that all fit. I change the sweaty bits every day but not necessarily the rest, and definitely not jeans unless I spill something. I’ve never been in the habit of buying clothes say, every month, and it’s not something I want in my budget, schedule, or my mind, not to speak of the environment. I wear my cars, my furniture and my clothes out.

I’m asking because when you look at photos of something nice, it’s always the complete outfit that pleases the eye (of course good photography and careful background helps to make all the colours go together). But if I separate the items in my mind, none of it goes with anything. So I end up with black, white, blue, green when faced with a t-shirt sale for instance. Well, also because I mostly don’t like the other options available. So back to making my own colour choices. (although, green isn’t just green, is it, there are so many you could work with just those for a while)

peonygardenThe concern for making your own clothes is: Do you just follow single strands of inspiration or is it more sensible to plan for a “collection”? Doesn’t have to be less fun, just time consuming. How the hey do you make a useful plan for your weaving!?

Basically what I need is my own personal sweatshop  to get through every idea in a reasonable amount of time. So instead of repeatedly going back to the thought of creating a massive pile of fabrics to sew from, I wonder why I just don’t work my way through the swatches by painting them? I have no idea! Perhaps it’s my version of a compulsory disorder… Brains are strange creatures, but it seems to make me happy when I’m in the flow of things, and I often wish at night I didn’t have to spend 8 hours on my back in the dark.

There’s my panel idea of course. Weave just samples, get the use of all the colours in one shirt. But I don’t think I’m ready to be dressed in patchwork all the time either! I just have this fantasy of all my items fitting together equally well no matter which two or three I pull out of the laundry pile with my eyes closed. As well as showing some variation, because it’s certainly easy enough to arrange 10 identical “suits” and never ponder the issue again.

samples01

Right now I’m overthinking it instead – perhaps because I’ve been really tired this week, in a sleepy sort of way. It’s still very late getting light, so I’ve snoozed sometimes until 8! And I haven’t even exercised since Saturday, so I can’t blame that (I think I was trying to haha). So which colour combo should I pick first? Have I really picked the right weaving drafts? How wide and long should each fabric be? Should I make a short, tiny tabby to test all the colours first?

But I’m glad to at least be doing something, little steps every day.

