Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Do you have a favourite colour combination, just recently, or one that you keep returning to?

Lately I’m a bit obsessed with the colours “Transparent Red Iron Oxide” and “Alizarin Crimson Hue” from Golden. They look great together and make a nice burnt orange too when mixed. I’m making up swatches and samples when I’m not just adding them directly to various projects.

My other two favourites are their Teal and Indian Yellow Hue. Not necessarily together, but they do mix.

I’ve never really gotten over my predicament of loving all the colours, muted, festive, earthy, primary, dark, light. So by making swatches when I’m a little bit stuck (after all, at this stage even my paintings are a kind of swatches) I get to work through the different palettes I’d like to use and sort them into themes instead of veering off wildly to the right and left between each canvas.

I try to buy cheaper paints (Winsor&Newton or Amsterdam) when it doesn’t matter, because while I really like the Golden range, my budget does not. But sometimes you just can’t help it, like this instance of two small sample tubes I tested of the colour Green Gold – guess which one I’ll reach for the most:

pukegreen

I also like that Golden indicates on each shade how transparent it is, because I have a thing for glazes. Just thinning a paint is not always an option, because at some point the pigment gets too diluted which affects the lightfastness.

On my good days I finally seem to be getting into a good routine where I play with my paints until there is no more room on the wall or table, then sit and weave while everything dries. Or write something. I love how I can sit here and just look up to ponder my next move, everything spread out to see instead of cluttering up a dark living room.

artbooks

How I wish these things could have been my job! But of course I’m so slow and unoriginal that I wouldn’t keep up with expenses anyway. (which is why I show you a cluster of books, not finished paintings) “Do what you love and the money will come.” Right. What if your favourite thing in the whole world was eating chocolate and napping?

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save